Back to Overview
Band Profile Image

Artist Information

Mountaineer was formed in 2015 by guitarist Clayton Bartholomew (ex-Secrets of the Sky, ex-Lycus) and vocalist Miguel Meza (ex-Ashes of American Flags) in the San Francisco Bay Area. Mountaineer's debut album, Sirens and Slumber, was recorded in late 2016. Shortly after, the band signed with Lifeforce Records, who released their debut in May of 2017. The band briefly toured the western U.S. in support of the release. In July of 2018, Lifeforce Records released the band's second full length album, titled Passages. This album saw the addition of drummer Patrick Spain. Following the release of Passages, guitarists Isaac Rigler and Forrest Harvey from Oakland doom band DAXMA (Blues Funeral Records) joined Mountaineer, and the band ended a year-long hiatus from playing live, joining Spotlights for a San Francisco show along with several other live performances in 2019. The new lineup changes not only gave the band the ability to play live, but also brought more songwriters into the fold. Throughout 2019 the band collaboratively wrote what was to become Mountaineer's third full length album, Bloodletting, with Lifeforce Records handling the release once again.

Consent Management Platform by Real Cookie Banner